UK News

COVID-19: Which countries are on the government’s travel green list and what does that mean for quarantine? | UK News

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the countries and territories that people will be able to visit without quarantine upon their return to the UK, the government said.

As England enters the next phase of the non-lockdown roadmap on May 17, a traffic light system that categorizes countries based on their COVID-19 risk levels has been developed.

Travelers from countries on the green list will need to take a COVID test before returning to the UK and another on the second day after they return – but they will not have to self-quarantine.

Those coming from amber countries will need to be quarantined for 10 days at home, with a test before they return, another on the second day and another on the eighth day.

People coming from red countries will have to self-isolate for 10 days in a quarantine hotel at a cost of £ 1,750 – with a test before they leave and tests on the second and eighth day.

Turkey, Maldives and Nepal have been added to the red list.

Although they are on the green list, people will not be able to go on vacation to Australia, New Zealand or Singapore as they are closed to British tourists.

The most popular European destinations for British holidaymakers – such as Spain, Italy, France and Greece – are on the Orange List.

Here is the full green list:





New Zealand



Faroe Islands

Tristan da cunha

Saint Helena


the falkland islands


South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

More information about this article Read More
This notice was published: 2021-05-07 14:31:00