Yorkshire’s Dawid Malan responds to England’s SOS for ODI series with Pakistan after Covid forces switched to full starting squad Yorkshire News

Dawid Malan from Yorkshire has been called up by England (Image:

Malan is the only club representative on a team that includes nine uncapped players after England’s plans for the three-game series starting Thursday fell into chaos after three players and four staff members tested positive. by Covid-19, forcing the rest to stay. -isolation.

There were four Yorkshire players in the starting group: Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Adil Rashid and David Willey.

Register to our daily newsletter

The newsletter i cut the noise

Ben Stokes will be the team captain after being absent from international duty since breaking his finger in the Indian Premier League earlier this year.

Yorkshire’s Dawid Malan during day one of the LV = Insurance County Championship game at Emerald Headingley (Image: PA)

The uncovered players are Brydon Carse, Zak Crawley, Lewis Gregory, Will Jacks, Tom Helm, Dan Lawrence, David Payne, Phil Salt and John Simpson, although Crawley, Gregory and Lawrence have played for England in other formats.

There is no retirement for Nottinghamshire hitter Alex Hales, who has not been involved since he was fired from the World Cup team in 2019.

ECB Executive Director Tom Harrison said: “We have been aware that the emergence of the Delta variant, coupled with our move away from strictly enforcing biosecurity environments, could increase the chances of an outbreak.

“We made a strategic choice to try to adapt the protocols, in order to support the general well-being of our players and managers who have spent much of the last 14 months living in very restricted conditions.

“Overnight, we have worked quickly to identify a new team, and we are grateful to Ben Stokes, who will be back as captain in England.”

The 10-day isolation period covers the three ODIs in Cardiff on Thursday, at Lord’s on Saturday and in Edgbaston on Tuesday. England will then play three Twenty20s against Pakistan at Trent Bridge on July 16, at Headingley on July 18 and at Old Trafford on July 20.

New template: Ben Stokes (Durham, Captain), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Danny Briggs (Warwickshire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Will Jacks (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), David Payne (Gloucestershire), Phil Salt (Sussex), John Simpson (Middlesex), James Vince (Hampshire).

More about this article: Read More
This notice was published: 2021-07-06 11:20:16

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *