Bath City

2022 local elections in South Somerset: Lib Dems win first announced seats Bath City News

The Liberal Democrats won the first four seats to be announced when counting local elections in South Somerset today (Friday May 6).

A total of 337 candidates are vying for 110 seats and the newly elected members will oversee the move from a Tier 2 council to a single unitary authority for Somerset in 2023, when the current district and county electoral system is abolished.

The first results from the South Somerset District Council area came from Brympton, Blackmoor Vale, Coker and Chard South where the Liberal Democrats beat their Tory rivals to win all seven of the eight seats up for grabs.

READ MORE: Vile far-right anti-immigration leaflets are hand-delivered to homes in Taunton


The results for Brympton, a division of Yeovil in the South Somerset District Council area were the first to be announced on Twitter today.


Peter Seib – Liberal Democrats: 920 votes, 31% of total Jeny Snell – Liberal Democrats 905 votes, 31% of total

Not elected

Anthony Power – Conservatives: 609 votes, 21% Teresa Thomas – Conservatives: 512, 17% Blackmoor Vale

Blackmoor Vale results also came quickly this morning and it was another Lib Dem win.


Sarah Dyke – Liberal Democrat: 1,814 votes, 29% Nicola Clark – Liberal Democrat: 1,590 votes, 26%

Not elected

Hayward Burt – Conservative: 1,443 votes, 23% William Wallace – Conservative: 1,328 votes, 22% Coker

It was another victory for the Lib Dems in Coker, as they took both seats in the division.


Oliver Patrick – Liberal Democrats: 1,857 votes, 29%

Mike Hewitson – Liberal Democrats: 1,856 votes, 29%

Not elected

Robert Janes – Conservative: 1,316 votes, 20% Huw Lawford – Conservative: 1,186 votes, 18% Jane Carter-Uren – Labour: 249 votes, 4% Chard South

The Conservatives managed to withdraw a seat in Chard South, where Connor Payne was elected with 19% of the vote.


Jason Baker – Liberal Democrat: 928 votes, 19% Connor Payne – Conservative: 908 votes, 19%

Not elected

Claire Brown – Liberal Democrat: 818 votes, 17% Timothy Eggins – Green Party: 813 votes, 17% Stuart Bull – Conservative: 748 votes, 15% Adam Loveridge – Green Party: 479 votes, 10% Nigel Pearson – The For Britain movement : 171 votes, 4%

Want our top stories with fewer ads and alerts when the biggest news drops? Download our app on iPhone or Android.

Read more related articles Read more related articles

More about this article: Read More
This notice was published: 2022-05-06 10:51:49

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *