UK News

European Super League: nine rebel clubs accept sanctions and stake their future in UEFA competitions | UK News

Nine of the football clubs that signed up for the separatist European Super League have accepted UEFA’s sanctions and have entered its international and domestic club competitions.

The clubs, including the six Premier League teams, have agreed to re-join the Association of European Clubs, which is the only club representative body recognized by UEFA.

In the club’s declaration of commitment, they also accepted the Super League project was a mistake, apologized to supporters, national associations, national leagues, other European clubs and UEFA and agreed to financial penalties.

UEFA convened an emergency panel of its executive committee, which took into consideration the “spirit and content” of the club’s declaration of commitment and ultimately decided to approve the various actions, measures and commitments. taken by the nine clubs.

Banner directed at European Super League collapsed
Protest banner lets organizers of European Super League collapse know exactly how supporters are feeling

The clubs are Arsenal, AC Milan, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham.

The three who have not given up on the Super League – Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus – face “appropriate action”, UEFA said.

Twelve clubs in total announced on April 18 that they would join the new European Super League, but the fan reaction was so strong that nine retired within days.

Find out more about the European Super League

A Spurs fan holds a sign outside their north London stadium
A Spurs fan holds a sign outside their north London stadium

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden got involved – and eventually announced the proposals were being quashed

Further steps …

More information about this article Read More
This notice was published: 2021-05-07 18:03:00