Four Hull City players become PFA League One team of the year as Barnsley players miss Championship XI Yorkshire News

Grant McCann’s team won promotion back to the Championship on the first question and claimed the League One title after finishing two points ahead of second-placed Peterborough United.

Striker Wilks finished the season with 21 goals and nine assists in all competitions, while Elder provided one goal and 10 assists from defense.

Register to our daily newsletter

The newsletter i cut the noise

Honeymoon provided the most assists for Hull last season, helping to set up 13 goals and claiming four of his own. Coyle proved to be an important cog in City’s promotion winning machine, with the defender appearing 34 times in all competitions last season.

NOMINEE: Mallik Wilks of Hull City has become the PFA League One Team of the Year. Image: Getty Images.

The rest of the League One squad is made up of stylish forward Jonson Clarke-Harris, Charlie Wyke and Aiden McGeady of Sunderland, Blackpool goalkeeper Chris Maxwell, duo of Lincoln Lewis Montsma and Jorge Grant and Oxford midfielder Rob Atkinson.

Despite reaching the championship play-offs, Barnsley had no players nominated for the championship team of the year with Norwich City dominating the teams with six players.

Canarias secured a forceful and instant return to the Premier League, finishing six points ahead at the top of the table with 97 points.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul, defenders Max Aarons and Grant Hanley, midfielder Emiliano Buendia, Tottenham loan officer Oliver Skipp and forward Teemu Pukki were selected for the division team by their teammates.

NOMINEE: George Honeyman of Hull City has made the PFA League One team of the year. Image: Getty Images.

Brentford’s success in the play-offs over Swansea City saw them win three picks with 33-goal forward Ivan Toney, central midfielder Ethan Pinnock and left-back Rico Henry all present.

Blackburn Rovers forward Adam Armstrong, who scored 26 goals for a team that finished the season in 15th place, and Reading midfielder Michael Olise were also named to the squad.

Former Bradford City forward James Vaughan celebrated his retirement by being named to the PFA League Two team of the year.

The Cheltenham Town champions have Ben Tozer and William Boyle named in the XI, with Cambridge’s Kyle Knoyle, Wes Hoolahan and the prolific Paul Mullin as well.

Defender Ricardo Santos and forward Eoin Doyle represent the promoted Bolton Wanderers, while Salford goalkeeper Vaclav Hladky, Josh Sheehan of Newport County and Matt Jay of Exeter City make up the rest of the team.

Support The Yorkshire Post and subscribe today. Your subscription will help us continue to bring quality news to the people of Yorkshire. In return, you will see fewer ads on the site, get free access to our app, and receive exclusive members-only offers. Click here for subscribe.

More about this article: Read More
This notice was published: 2021-06-03 17:12:17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *